Thunker’s Weblog


To Wait or Not To Wait…

Robert Wheadon-126x150

One of the things I lack is vast amounts of patience.  I’m ready to jump on board with any technology that allows me to access data faster or research information.  I want things now.  I don’t want to wait too long for my book to come from Amazon, or wait in line at McDonald’s for my Big Mac.  It’s supposed to be fast food, right?

Obviously, I need some improvement.  By learning patience, I will save myself from getting all bound up in feelings of frustration, annoyance and outright anger. And I might master my soul…

In Luke, the Savior said:

19 In your patience possess ye your souls. (Luke 21:19)

In New Testament Greek, the word “possess” also has connotations of control over or mastery, as well as acquire or win.  If you drop one of those related terms in place of “possess” you gain a clearer vision of the verse and the Savior’s message here.

As a parent, I get to deal with patience quite a bit.  As a parent, patience becomes the antidote I preach to my children when they want something in the moment.  Like me, sometimes they just want something now.  And children become very adept at vocalizing their immediate want very early in life.  In response, I’ve become very adept at telling them, “Be patient.”  I’m not really teaching them patience when I say that.  I’m teaching them the universal parental signal to be quiet and quit bugging me.

However…..

Real patience contains ingredients of humility and faith.  As children of God, how many times have we sent our wants heavenward in prayer?  Have we prayed over children, spouses, family, jobs, or direction in life?  Of course we have.  Have our prayers been immediately answered how we desire?  Of course not.  When the heavens seem silent and answers are far away, it is very hard to hear the words, “Be patient.”  It takes large dollops of faith and humility to place ourselves in God’s care and say, “Thy will be done,” rather than rage when our mortal will is not accommodated.  And yet this is one of mortality’s lessons.

It helps me realize the importance of patience when I think of the perfect patience Heavenly Father has with His children.  We stumble and fall like so many toddlers learning to walk in this life.  And still, He is always patient, always there, encouraging us to keep trying, keep reaching for His light and keep walking that narrow path back to Him.

Our amount of patience can also be a means of measurement of our amount of charity.  Just before the Savior presents the parable of the Good Samaritan, Jesus responds to a lawyer.  The lawyer asks the conditions to gain eternal life.  The Savior responds with a question:  What does the scriptures say?  The lawyer astutely answers from the law of Moses – Love God and love your neighbor.

“25 And, behold, a certain lawyer stood up, and tempted him, saying, Master, what shall I do to inherit eternal life?

26 He said unto him, What is written in the law? how readest thou?

27 And he answering said, Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy strength, and with all thy mind; and thy neighbour as thyself.

28 And he said unto him, Thou hast answered right: this do, and thou shalt live.” (Luke 10:25-28)

I think the practice of patience with those in our lives helps us obey that commandment in a much richer and Christ-like manner.  If I am patient, I am not busy passing judgement.  If I am patient, I am less concerned about my own personal agenda and more about the needs of others.  If I am patient, I will try and see life with the view of others rather than my own myopic vision.

Joseph Smith wrote: “Ye are not able to abide the presence of God now, neither the ministering of angels; wherefore, continue in patience until ye are perfected.” (D&C 67:13)

The practicing of patience is a divine attribute of our Heavenly Father.  We should practice patience, as well.  We are trying to become like God, one small, stumbling step at a time.  Let’s be patient with ourselves, our fellow travelers in life, and faithfully patient that all is in God’s hands and He is guiding us home.

IMG_0061

   Be kind, make good memories, and come back soon.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Love your thoughts here, Robert – one question – is there a way to make the font larger? My eyes are getting older, and this is VERY small text!

Comment by Bret Wheadon

I think so. Let me give it a try and I’ll republish it. Thanks for letting me know.

Comment by thunker




Leave a Reply

